Leadership at Youth in Government Conference
Leadership at Youth in Government Conference
This year, we had five girls in leadership positions, and they all did an outstanding job: Rachel Chin, Caroline Ciaramitaro, Anar Parmar, Alina Perez, and Megan Wassef. The staff was particularly appreciative of all they have done for the program, and especially mentioned how much they will miss the seniors. Additionally, Zoya Latif and Kennedy Hamblen were recognized as outstanding delegates, and the bill submitted by Lily Monroe and Sneha Sharma received an outstanding bill commendation.

Each year, 10 students are chosen to participate in the summer Conference On National Affairs (CONA), an all-expense-paid week in Alabama with 33 states participating. Given that there were almost 700 students at the conference, you can see that being chosen is the most prestigious honor given. In my years of working with YIG, we have sent one student (Nicole Mansour), and her name was drawn from the alternate list. So you can see why we are so excited to announce that we have not one but two delegates to this summer's CONA conference: please congratulate Megan Wassef (for her four years of dedication to the program and her efforts to promote our Middle School program) and Caroline Ciarmitaro (for her above and beyond work in redesigning the organization of the lobbyists -- and she's only a junior!) when you see them!

And then there's next year. Our delegation will again play a key role in leading the conference, as we have six (6) girls who have been elected to office. Please congratulate:
Isra Ahmed (House Sergeant at Arms)
Caroline Ciaramitaro (Head Lobbyist)
Adalyn Meeks (Blue Speaker Pro-Tempore of the House)
Lily Monroe (Red Speaker Pro-Tempore of the House)
Gabby Perez (Red House Clerk)
Sneha Sharma (Senate Sergeant at Arms)