Congratulations to the 2022 Mays Prize in Writing Winners

Earlier this month in Middle and Upper School Chapel, we announced the winners of the Mays Prize in Writing. The Mays Prize is St. Mary’s annual fiction-writing contest. Students from grades 1st-12th submit creative writing stories. This year’s prompt, “Growing Up is Magical,” asked students to imagine a character the same age as them and tell the story of something magical that happens to that character during their school day. We are proud of all our entrants for their impressive and inventive stories. This year’s entries were beautiful, inspiring, and magical.⁠

A student committee of juniors and seniors passionate about creative writing worked with faculty advisors to create the prompt. The students also judged the Lower and Middle School entries. The writing contest promotes creative writing at all grade levels and allows our students a creative space to shine.⁠

Award sponsors, Diane and Kit Mays, and daughters Dr. Bethany Mays Owen ’93 and Dr. Mary Austin Mays ’03, joined us for Chapel to honor the winners. Our sincere and earnest thanks to the Mays family for their continued support of the writing contest and appreciation for the arts and writing instruction at St. Mary’s.⁠

2022 Recipients of the Mays Prize in Writing

1st Grade

Winner: Audrey Settle

Honorable Mention: Charly Walley, Ari Hooks

2nd Grade

Winner: Miller Martin

Honorable Mention: Violet Swamy, Sloane Clark

3rd Grade

Winner: Janie McDonald

Honorable Mention: Francis Holman, Meera Satpute

4th Grade

Winner: Ellis Weston

Honorable Mention: Ronshel Rose Kurusanthony, Samantha Do

5th Grade

Winner: Anya Gupta

Honorable Mention: Jada Lin, Mia Gandy

6th Grade

Winner: Eliza Frazer

Honorable Mention: Mayra Arshad, Eshal Chaudhry

7th Grade

Winner: Gemma Ferguson

Honorable Mention: Jane Russell, Lucy Lyon

8th Grade

Winner: Quinn Ferebee

Honorable Mention: Lilly Coggin, Katherine Williams 

9th Grade

Winner: Kate Wolfkill

Honorable Mention: Lydia Ford, Ella Alpe

10th Grade

Winner: Soraya Nazor

Honorable Mention: Ella Curlin, Lily Karnes

11th Grade

Winner: Charlie LaMountain

Honorable Mention: Aislinn Choo, Sophia Arbelaez

12th Grade

Winner: Nora James Eikner

Honorable Mention: Mallory Miller, Willow Blythe


  • All-School
  • Lower School
  • Middle School
  • Upper School

Additional Images