VEX Robotics World Championships

The VEX Robotics World Championships brings together the top VEX IQ Competition teams from around the globe to celebrate their accomplishments and participate to be crowned champions.

Three SMS middle school teams qualified for the World Championship and represented TN, competing against 800 teams from 70 countries in this year's robot game, Slapshot. Over three action-packed days of competition, our students collaborated with teams from across the globe to score their highest match scores all season. Our 6th-grade team, made up of Kylin Menard, Mia Federico, Sloan Webster, and Riya Kumar, received high honors at the competition, bringing home the Create Award. 

The Create Award recognizes a creative engineering design solution to one or more challenges of the competition. 

Key criteria of the Create Award are:
Team demonstrates a creative approach to accomplish game objectives
Team has committed to ambitious and creative approaches to solving the game challenge
Students understand and explain how they worked together to develop their robot design and game strategy
Team interview demonstrates effective communication skills, teamwork, professionalism, and student-centered ethos. 

Our teams have been working towards this goal since September 2022. They have put in countless hours designing and programming a robot that can compete against the best in the World. Not only have they demonstrated amazing skills in building, but together they have documented over 250 pages in their engineering design notebooks, detailing each change they've made to their robot throughout this season.  Each team should be recognized for their outstanding accomplishments this season: 

8th Graders: Esme Larshan, Thea Larshan, and Abigail Brown: Local Tournament Awards - Excellence Award and Amaze Award
6th Graders: Brianna Brown, Anika Kharbanda, Sahana Mudigoudar, and Leah Tate - Local Awards - Teamwork Champions, Build Award, and Design Award, State Awards - Innovate Award
6th Graders: Kylin Menard, Mia Federico, Sloan Webster, and Riya Kumar - Local Awards - Excellence Award (x2), State Awards - 4th Place Teamwork Champions, World - Create Award


  • All-School
  • Middle School
  • Robotics

Additional Images