Congratulations to the Class of 2023!

Last week, we celebrated the Class of 2023 at St. Mary's 138th Commencement. Congratulations to the 63 deserving graduates. This impressive class earned acceptance to 157 universities and will move on to 45 different colleges and universities in 23 states. Read below to see where these young women are headed. 

During the ceremony, we heard words of reflection from Valedictorian Hannah Kerlan and Class President Erin Roy. We also awarded some of St. Mary’s most prestigious awards (see below for a list of award winners). It was bittersweet to say goodbye to this hard-working group of young women who have exhibited compassion, resiliency, and creativity throughout their time at St. Mary’s.

When asked to reflect on her time at St. Mary’s, Cathedral Award recipient Eva Ogbeide said, “The best thing about this school is that I am surrounded by people who push me to be the best version of myself. We are all so close and supportive of one another. I have never asked for help and not received it.” Eva is headed to the University of Miami with plans to study ​​health science.

We are incredibly proud of our newest alumnae and cannot wait to see what they do next!

Graduation Awards

Hazelhurst Gold Cross Award: Anna Douglas Piper

Tabor Novak Award: Grace Jones

Spirit of St. Mary's Award: Fia Arbelaez and Hayden Hedges

Mary M. Davis Loyalty Award: Michelle Jun

Ellen Feild Todd ’81 Award: Leah Balkaran

Cathedral Award: Eva Ogbeide

Class of 2023 

Maggie Akers
Middle Tennessee State University

Fia Arbelaez
Yale University

Emerson Baer
The University of Tennessee, Knoxville

Leah Balkaran
Washington and Lee University

Stella Blen
University of Wisconsin

Margo Burbank
Chapman University

Allie Burkhart
Colorado State University

Madison Burt
Louisiana State University

Georgia Carls
Loyola Marymount University

Aislinn Choo
Savannah College of Art and Design

Grace Ciaramitaro
Vanderbilt University

Katie Craft
University of Mississippi

Oakley Day
Butler University

Grayson Finks
The University of Tennessee, Knoxville

Mela Ford
University of Southern California

Payton Gallik
University of Mississippi

Naisha Gaur
Dickinson College

Riley Gilmore
University of Mississippi

Annie Gowen
The University of Tennessee, Knoxville

Kayla Gurley
The University of Alabama

Cameron Hart
Emory University

Hayden Hedges
Sewanee: The University of the South

Keyona Hooker
Drexel University

Haniyah Ismail
Rhodes College

Ava Jalenak
Auburn University

Sofia Jalenak
Washington University in St. Louis

Grace Jones
Wake Forest University

Michelle Jun
Brown University

Kaela Keith
Birmingham-Southern College

Hannah Kerlan
Vanderbilt University

Alexandra Lafferty
Auburn University

Charlie LaMountain
Warren Wilson College

Rachel Larkins
University of Puget Sound

Emery Lindy
Cornell University

Meghana Madasu
The University of Alabama

Arden Miller
The University of Tennessee, Knoxville

Ellie Monaghan
The University of Tennessee, Knoxville

Caroline O'Brien
The University of Tennessee, Knoxville

Eva Ogbeide
University of Miami

Sara Ottinger
University of Maryland

Shifa Panjwani
University of Pennsylvania

Anna Douglas Piper
University of Virginia

Kate Prillaman
Indiana University

Angela Roberts
Tufts University

Erika Ross
Auburn University

Erin Roy
Loyola Marymount University

Elaina Santos
Samford University

Ruth Ann Seale
Louisiana State University

Gracie Shy
University of Mississippi

Camille Smith
Saint Louis University

Gabby Smith
Southern Methodist University

Mia Soefker
Appalachian State University

Reese Suddarth
Illinois Wesleyan University

Darla Suitt
Goucher College

Ainslee Taylor
High Point University

Amaya Taylor
Goucher College

Lea Thomas
University of Arizona

Julia Van Hoozer
Sewanee: The University of the South

Maha Virk
Rhodes College

Elizabeth Wen
University of Central Florida

Amor Williams
Pittsburgh Ballet Theatre

Callie Wittmann
Wake Forest University

Sophie Younker
Marymount Manhattan College

  • Upper School

Additional Images

Anna Douglas Piper, Hazelhurst Gold Cross Award

Grace Jones, Tabor Novak Award

Fia Arbelaez, Spirit of St. Mary's Award

Hayden Hedges, Spirit of St. Mary's Award

Michelle Jun, Mary M. Davis Loyalty Award

Leah Balkaran, Ellen Feild Todd ’81 Award

Eva Ogbeide, Cathedral Award